Sustainability Summits

2019 Sustainability Summit

Chancellor Christ give 2018 Sustainability Summit Award to Anamina Shofry

The Summit included a reception and poster session and the annual sustainability awards ceremony. The 2019 Sustainability Summit celebrated climate action and Cool Campus Challenge.  

See the flyer. To view photos from the 2019 CACS Sustainability Summit, click here

Highlights the 2018 Summit celebrating sustainability from the Past 150 Years

In April 2018, the 15th Annual CACS Sustainability Summit celebrated 150 years of sustainability at Berkeley! In addition to a poster session, remarks from Chancellor Christ, and the sustainability awards ceremony, Vien Truong delivered the keynote address. Truong, CEO of Dream Corp (#GreenForAll) and a Berkeley alum, shared her work on a national initiative that puts communities of color at the forefront of the climate movement and equality at the center of environmental solutions. DOWNLOAD THE FLYER

Some highlights from our 150 year history:

  • In 1892, Berkeley faculty were instrumental in working with John Muir to found the Sierra Club.  

  • In the 20th century, Berkeley alumni played key roles in the establishment of America’s National Parks system, in the preservation of Mt. Diablo, and in the birth of the sustainable food movement.

  • In 1961, three friends of the campus led Save the Bay, a local conservation effort that ultimately sparked some of our country’s most important environmental protection laws.

  • In 1987, Berkeley established our first energy conservation office; in 1998 we created an unlimited ride pass to encourage community use of public transit; in 2008 we opened our modern Office of Sustainability.

  • Over the last 30 years, Berkeley students have established 50 environmental groups, taught hundreds of sustainability DeCals, and through the Green Initiative Fund have supported more than 150 campus projects and 250 student internships.

  • Berkeley faculty now offer 600 sustainability-related undergraduate and graduate courses.

  • Cal research has produced development of new renewable and sustainable energy sources, better understanding of the implications of climate change, and policy responses to environmental issues.

History of the Sustainability Summit

CACS first met in October 2003, and within a year hosted the first annual UC Berkeley Sustainability Summit.  Since then, CACS has hosted a UC Berkeley Sustainability Summit every April during Earth Week. These events serve to gather the campus sustainability community, to honor achievements with Sustainability Awards, to give general community members the chance to green their campus with Green Fund Grants, and to highlight major initiatives.

Past Sustainability Summits

Memories from Sustainability Summits

Vice Chancellor Marc Fisher and CACS sponsor with staff friends

Award winner Andrea Luna and friends

Award winner Heidi Sachs and OS Fellow Jack Chang

Sage with poster at 2018 Sustainability Summit

Student at poster session, 2018 Sustainability Summit

food options at the 2018 Sustainability Summit

Fresh, local, organic, nutritious, served with a smile

2014 Sustainability Awards

2014 CACS Sustainability Summit - Part 3 of 5: Sustainability Awards